Billy Vunipola named on the bench as England get set for Scotland clash

Home / Billy Vunipola named on the bench as England get set for Scotland clash

ENGLAND COACH EDDIE Jones has named Billy Vunipola on the bench for their Calcutta Cup clash with Scotland in Twickenham on Saturday (kick-off 4pm, RTÉ Two).

The number eight made his return to competitive rugby last weekend with Saracens having overcome a knee injury, but has not taken Nathan Hughes’s place in what is an unchanged pack.

There are, however, three changes to the backline that eventually overcame Italy last time out with Jonathan Joseph reinstated at outside-centre, Jack Nowell named on the right wing and Ben Youngs starting at scrum-half.

Click Here: FC Bayern Munich Jersey Sale

Anthony Watson also makes the match day 23 for the first time this campaign and he and Vunipola are joined by Danny Care and Ben Te’o as the only other changes to the bench.

Joe Marler will win his 50th cap and will lead the team out of the tunnel in what is the 124th edition of the Calcutta Cup.

The only change made by Vern Cotter comes through the injury absence of John Hardie, leaving Hamish Watson to wear the number seven jersey for the third time in this Championship.


15. Mike Brown
14. Jack Nowell
13. Jonathan Joseph
12. Owen Farrell
11. Elliot Daly
10. George Ford
9. Ben Youngs

1. Joe Marler
2. Dylan Hartley (captain)
3. Dan Cole
4. Joe Launchbury
5. Courtney Lawes
6. Maro Itoje
7. James Haskell
8. Nathan Hughes


16. Jamie George
17. Mako Vunipola
18. Kyle Sinckler
19. Tom Wood
20. Billy Vunipola
21. Danny Care
22. Ben Te’o
23. Anthony Watson


15. Stuart Hogg
14. Tommy Seymour
13. Huw Jones
12. Alex Dunbar
11. Tim Visser
10. Finn Russell
9. Ali Price

1. Gordon Reid
2. Fraser Brown
3. Zander Fagerson
4. Richie Gray
5. Jonny Gray
6. John Barclay (Capt.)
7. Hamish Watson
8. Ryan Wilson


16. Ross Ford
17. Allan Dell
18. Simon Berghan
19. Tim Swinson
20. Cornell Du Preez
21. Henry Pyrgos
22. Duncan Weir
23. Mark Bennett

Subscribe to The42 Rugby Show podcast here:

About Author