Beirne, Cullen and Larmour the big winners as Pro14’s 2017/18 awards handed out

Home / Beirne, Cullen and Larmour the big winners as Pro14’s 2017/18 awards handed out

TADHG BEIRNE’S OUTSTANDING form for Scarlets last term was recognised this evening as he was named the 2017/18 Pro14 players’ player of the season at an awards ceremony in Glasgow.

Tadhg Beirne was named Pro14 players’ player of the season tonight. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

The 26-year-old, who is preparing for his first season as a Munster player, saw off competition from former Scarlets team-mate Hadleigh Parkes and Leinster’s James Lowe to scoop the top award of the night.

Beirne played an integral role in the Welsh region’s run to the Pro14 final and was overwhelmingly recognised by his fellow players for his performances throughout the campaign.

The hybrid flanker/second row topped the turnover charts with 37 and becomes the third Ireland international to win the award after Tommy Bowe (2009/10) and Bundee Aki 2015/16).

There was also success for Pro14 champions Leinster as Leo Cullen was named coach of the season, while Jordan Larmour’s remarkable breakthrough year was acknowledged with the young player of the season award.

Barry Daly, meanwhile, was named top try scorer for the 2017/18 season after he crossed 12 times during Leinster’s title-winning campaign.

Elsewhere, the Pro14 chairman’s award was given to former Dragons back row Ed Jackson in recognition of his recovery from a serious spinal injury and subsequent charity work.

Jackson, 29, was forced to retire from the game last year and has since recovered to the point where he has climbed Snowdon mountain in Wales for charity.

Click Here: Spain National Team soccer tracksuit

Leinster’s Jordan Larmour scooped the young player of the season award. Source: Inpho/Billy Stickland

Former Cheetahs out-half Fred Zeilinga won the Golden Boot with his accuracy of 85.37% outshining all of the other place kickers (who had a minimum of 30 attempts at goal), while Olly Robinson of Cardiff Blues was the first winner of the tackle award.

Players who made 200 successful tackles or more were eligible and the award was given to the player with the highest completion percentage — Robinson made a total of 243 tackles with a tackle completion rate of 94.6%.

Finally, the first-ever Ironman award went to Giulio Bisegni of Zebre, who was recognised for the most amount of minutes (1,504) on the pitch across the 21 regular season rounds.

2017/18 Guinness Pro14 award winners:Players’ Player of the Season: Tadhg Beirne (Scarlets)Coach of the Season: Leo Cullen (Leinster Rugby)Young Player of the Season: Jordan Larmour (Leinster Rugby)Chairman’s Award: Ed Jackson (Dragons)Golden Boot Award: Fred Zeilinga (Toyota Cheetahs)Top Try Scorer: Barry Daly (Leinster Rugby)Tackle Machine: Olly Robinson (Cardiff Blues)Pro14 Ironman: Giulio Bisegni (Zebre Rugby Club)Fair Play Award: Scarlets

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About Author